What are the most common cleanroom classification scales?

What are the global cleanroom classification bodies or cleanroom classification scales. We are looking to build several nanofab facilities across 3 continents and are researching the different types of cleanroom classifications that might be possible.

Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

There are two different classification scales that are generally used, the U.S. General Service Administration standards (FS209E) and International Standards Organization (ISO) classifications. The classes are determined by the maximum acceptable numbers of particles (by size) in the air per cubic meter.

In semiconductor manufacturing, wafer fab processes usually require a sub-Class 1 to Class 10 cleanroom, while assembly processes prior to encapsulation of the die require a Class 10K cleanroom.  A class 100K cleanroom is all that post-encapsulation assembly and test processes typically require.

Table 1. Cleanroom Classes

Class Name 0.1 micron 0.2 micron 0.3 micron 0.5 micron 5 micron
1 35 7.5 3 1 N/A
10 350 75 30 10 N/A
100 N/A 750 300 100 N/A
1000 N/A N/A N/A 1000 7
10000 N/A N/A N/A 10000 70
100000 N/A N/A N/A 100000 700

Answered on May 16, 2018.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.